New Year, New Blog: It’s already 25 days into 2017!

…So it’s not really the new year. In fact, it’s almost the end of January!

I’ve had to grapple with slapping together a coherent thesis, furiously digging up research material, presenting it in front of a crowd, and then…the actual writing. And as usual, I’ve been using that an excuse to neglect this place, which is something that I really want to change. While I’ve been busy with school, it’s given me some time to think about why I started this blog and what I really want to do with it. Was it just because I wanted a platform to blab my opinions out on? In that case, there was always Twitter. Why did I choose to blog?

I’ve made it my resolution to find that answer this year. I’d like for this to be a platform where I can introduce more female-oriented content for interested fans of any gender. If this blog can somehow reach more readers or help introduce new things to others, I’d like to think that I’ve succeeded somewhat 🙂 In that vein, I’d like to set down a couple of personal goals for myself!

2017 Resolutions:

  • Stop using studies/work as an excuse to slack off just because I’m lazy. There will be busy times, but I’d like to be more disciplined with my time.
  • Post 1-2 times a month at minimum! With this post I’ve cheated and hit my January quota, BARELY.
  • Introduce new kinds of content. I’ll be doing some translations, reviews of more than just otome games, intro posts to some series, and expanding out in general. The primary genre will still remain ‘female-oriented’ (joshi-muke) though! The blog needs a direction and this is me finding one.
  • I won’t overstretch myself; the blog did start as an interest-based thing and will remain as such. I’m not gonna go out of my way to play something I’m not interested in, my time is precious, etc. That’s not to say I won’t try, but I ain’t gonna have the patience (or money) to sit through most of Rejet’s stuff.

I haven’t forgotten about the stuff I said I’d write either!!! Also, one of the ‘resolutions’ was going to be something like me finding my voice through blogging, but whether I’m funny or not really depends on spur-of-the-moment voodoo. I don’t want to ruin the mood of a great game by making an inappropriate joke about it! But if the game’s terribad then yeah, comedic masterpiece.

With all of this said, I’ve also given the blog a new theme because I got bored of all the black-and-white minimalist nonsense when there’s nothing elegant about me HAHA. Hopefully this also makes textwalls a lot easier to read. Of course, I’d also like to thank anyone who made it this far into such a personal ramble.

Seeya in the next post!

 

Leave a Reply

